Concert Ticket Stubs (framed)

2013-07-19 16.25.16I’ve been a fan of concerts ever since the mid 80’s when I first started going to them.  One of my very first was to see New Wave keyboard guru Howard Jones at the Kingswood Music Theatre (part of the Canada’s Wonderland theme park) in June 1985. I would have been just 13 at the time.  I saw him again at least 5 or 6 more times over the next 3 decades, including a really cool acoustic show at a small downtown club where I got to meet him.  He was also a large part of the reason I decided to take up playing keyboards, something I still do semi-professionally to this day.

I’ve heard a theory that whatever music we listen to until around age 25 will be the music we keep coming back to for the rest of our lives, because it’s the most imprinted with meaning and memories.  As we get older, we’re generally less interested in discovering new music and new artists, which is why “classic” radio formats do so well.  As much as I wish that weren’t true, I think there’s a lot of truth to that.  I wonder how much of the music we consider ‘classic’ has little to do with the quality of the actual music, but is simply a product of where we were and who we were with when we first heard it?

And I wonder how I would have turned out if my first concert had been something like Ozzy Osbourne??

3 responses to “Concert Ticket Stubs (framed)

