Book Review: “Taking Things Seriously”

Glenn, Joshua and Carol Hayes, 2007. Taking Things Seriously: 75 Objects with Unexpected Significance, New York, Princeton Architectural Press

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1381159.Taking_Things_Seriously

Although neither this book or its authors were known to me at the time of starting Things I Kept, many of the stories in this collection would have fit in nicely.  When I first learned about this book I felt a bit like Gonzo in “Muppets from Space” when he finally discovers who he is by finding others of the same species.  Without taking my things (or myself) TOO seriously, I would say that the main motivation for this Blog is summed up perfectly by the book’s introduction:

“Step into the living room, study, office, studio, or den of just about any engaged, imaginative, passionate individual and you’ll gravitate toward an item that, although it may not appear particularly valuable, is reverentially displayed as though it were a precious and irreplaceable artifact. Inquire about the object’s provenance and you’ll be treated to a lively anecdote about how it came into your host’s possession.  Keep digging, and you might crack the code of what the thing means.  Just as we are collectors of things, things are collectors of meaning.”

Comments are disabled.

